Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20510

August 3, 2022

The Honorable Michael Regan Administrator U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20460

Dear Administrator Regan:

Since your confirmation, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has taken the first truly meaningful actions to protect human health and our environment from per-and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS), and we thank you for your leadership. But aggressive action is still needed to jump start the clean-up of contaminated sites nationwide. Therefore, we urge the EPA to move swiftly to finally designate the two most notorious and common "forever chemicals"—perfluorooctanoic acid (PFOA) and perfluorooctane sulfonic acid (PFOS)—as hazardous substances under Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA).

In October 2021, President Biden announced "accelerated efforts" across the government to tackle PFAS, including plans to propose PFOA and PFOS as hazardous substances. We appreciate the urgency with which your agency is recognizing the contamination crisis caused by decades of unregulated releases of these toxic chemicals. Additionally, we were pleased to hear the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is on track to decide on CERCLA designation for these chemicals in its PFAS Strategic Roadmap.²

PFAS pollution threatens thousands of communities, including military sites and low-income and communities of color who, through no fault of their own, are confronting harmful health effects and significant clean-up cost. But the EPA has yet to designate PFOA and PFOS as hazardous substances. Further delay will pose unacceptable, continued risks to these communities and the surrounding environment.

As you know, the designation of a substance as hazardous under CERCLA does not ban its use, and many such chemicals to this day remain in commerce and are widely used in commercial products. However, coupled with other broad-based actions needed to tackle additional PFAS, the designation of PFOA and PFOS as hazardous substances is an important first step toward helping hold polluters accountable, encouraging more responsible stewardship of forever chemicals, and cleaning up contaminated sites.

¹ FACT SHEET: Biden-Harris Administration Launches Plan to Combat PFAS Pollution, October 18, 2021. https://www.whitehouse.gov/briefing-room/statements-releases/2021/10/18/fact-sheet-biden-harris-administration-launches-plan-to-combat-pfas-pollution/

² House Energy and Commerce Committee hearing entitled, "The Fiscal Year 2023 EPA Budget." Tuesday, May 17, 2022. https://energycommerce.house.gov/committee-activity/hearings/hearing-on-the-fiscal-year-2023-epa-budget

We are grateful for your commitment and efforts to address the PFAS crisis in the United States. As more and more communities nationwide discover PFAS contamination, the greater the need grows for federal action. We urge you and the administration to follow through on your commitment by designating the two most harmful "forever chemicals"—PFOA and PFOS—as the hazardous substances we know they are as expeditiously as possible.

Thank you for your attention and consideration of this important request.

Sincerely,

Debbie Dingell

Member of Congress

Frank Pallone, Jr.

Member of Congress
Chair, Committee on Energy

and Commerce

Paul D. Tonko

Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Manette Diaz Barragán

Member of Congress

Richard E. Neal

Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens

Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch

Ann Kirkpatrick Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva

Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

Carolyn B. Maloney
Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress Rashida Tlaib

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Lori Trahan

Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Alan S. Lowenthal Member of Congress

André Carson

Man Lowerthal

André Carson Member of Congress Albio Sires

Member of Congress

Mark Pocan

Member of Congress

Marcy Kaptur

Member of Congress

John Yarmuth

Member of Congress

Tom Malinowski

Member of Congress

Barbara Lee

Member of Congress

Steve Cohen

Member of Congress

Danny K. **D**avis

Member of Congress

d. Perio

Sheila Jackson Lee

Member of Congress

Bobby L. Rush

Chris Pappas

Chris Pappas

Member of Congress

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Kartell

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Andy Levin Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

Sean Patrick Maloney Member of Congress

William R. Keating Member of Congress

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Anthony G. Brown Member of Congress Katherine M. Clark
Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Madeleine Dean
Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Chell R

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Bornie Water Colema

A. Donald McEachin Member of Congress

A. Jonel M'Eac L.

Andy Kim Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress Lucille Roybal-Allard

Member of Congress

Kathleen M. Rice Member of Congress

Tom O'Halleran Member of Congress Kathy Castor Member of Congress

Kathy Castor

Mamie Raskin
Member of Congress

Jackie Speier Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill
Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Seth Moulton

Member of Congress

Adam Smith

David J. Trone Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Peter Welch

Member of Congress

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

ahkm

Dwight Evans

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby" Scott

Member of Congress

Diana DeGette

Member of Congress

Dana Dollate

Tony Cardencs

Peter A. DeFazio

Member of Congress

Tony Cárdenas

Brenda L. Lawrence Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Sean Casten

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Ted W. Lieu

Ted W. Lien

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Winds J. Jain

Ferrold Nadler Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress Michael F. Q. San Nicolas Member of Congress

Min Fahhi

Raul Ruiz, M.D.
Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin

Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

David Scott Member of Congress Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Bill Foster

Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger Member of Congress Kon Kind

Ron Kind Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Jum Vargas Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Troy Carter Member of Congress

Al Lawson
Member of Congress

Jamaal Bowman, Ed.D. Member of Congress Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Lucy McBath Member of Congress David N. Civillina

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

Ro Khanna

Member of Congress

Doris Matsui

Member of Congress

Don's Matsui

Jason Crow

Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren

Member of Congress

Maxine Waters

Member of Congress

Nafine Waters

Anna G. Eshoo

Member of Congress

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Melanie Stansbury

Member of Congress

Ruben Gallego

K. Butterfield Member of Congress

Ritchie Zone
Ritchie Torres

Member of Congress

Mark Takano

Member of Congress

Mark Jahan

Grace Meng

Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes

Member of Congress

Pete Agrilar

Pete Aguilar

Member of Congress

Mike Doyle

Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr.

Member of Congress

Mike Quigley

Member of Congress

Take Auchincloss

Susie Lee

Member of Congress

Susie lee

Conor Lamb

Member of Congress

Donald Norcross

Member of Congress

Abigail Davis Spanberger

Member of Congress

CC: Shalanda Young, Director, Office of Management and Budget